XXX – XX

Back in Jersey. Hot day and hilly route of the original Jersey Marathon; that was only my second race and my first ever marathon way back in 1984 when I finished in 3:42.58 after ‘blowing up’ in the last 2 miles [hips seized up] on a hot day and having to walk, though I had gone through halfway in a suicide 1:33!?

Scan20001

where it all started May 1984 [18 years old]

Was very interesting to run the route again for the first time in 32 years. Had the company of the local assistant minister for sports and leisure Steve Pallett for the first 3 miles and the cracking pace he set helped me continue in the same vein ‘uphill’ from there for the next 3-4 miles through St Peter’s Valley. I had forgotten how subtly undulating the course was from Les Landes to St Martins. Went a little off course around the back of Carrefour Selous when my attention wondered, but largely followed the original route and at least had some welcome shade.

Somewhat surprised given the lack of sleep over the weekend to get around in 3:48.59, the second or third fastest one yet!? Nice to be interviewed for local BBC news [TV and radio]. Now only 20 to go but feeling like I haven’t really started to work yet; which is incredibly strange. Fundraising is going appallingly, but then I am a runner not a charity runner and so am finding it hard to ‘moan’ and drama queen about it all [which unfortunately appears to be the way to get lots of cash?] when my natural temperament is just to ‘get on with it’.

TDC 877 days 9653 miles

Leave a Reply

