60 years ago [TDC45]

The first recorded and official sub 4 minute mile was 60 years ago today.


My legs weren’t recovered enough to do my own mile TT today so I joined my father [over from Jersey] and a friend and we had a 5 mile trot around Weald Country Park.

pete paul dad

Strangely enough today is also another milestone [schuse pun] it is the 30th anniversary of my and my father’s first Marathon [6 May 1984] which was itself the 30th anniversary of the first sub 4 minute mile [not that I realised that until a couple of months back!] Time certainly flies!!

Jersey Marathon 6 May 1984

Jersey Marathon 6 May 1984

Jogged to Sweatshop Stratford after school this afternoon and did the 5K route really slowly then jogged home; for a 12 mile day. Quads still a little tired, but feeling fine.

TDC 45 days 418 miles

Leave a Reply

